quotes and sayings
3 min readNov 29, 2022

for more Charlie Hunnam quotes:Click Here

  1. If I went to them all dressed up and flashed a nice smile for the cameras it would probably be easier for me to get work. But I just can’t tolerate it.
  2. I got expelled from high school, and then did my exams from home. I decided, through that experience, that I was going to expediate my plan and didn’t go to university. Instead, I went to a community college and studied the theory and history of film with the idea that I wanted to write and direct.
  3. A lot of my friends are gangsters. Not like gangsters — well, yeah, all sorts of levels of criminality — but not the types that are preying on innocent people. I have no interest in the type of criminality that has no respect for collateral damage.
  4. They say that theater is the actor’s medium, television is the writer’s medium and film is the director’s medium, and it’s really true.
  5. In a work capacity I’m only interested in acting and producing.
  6. Since I was young, I’ve been aware that I need time to myself to process everything.
  7. I find aspects of the industry tedious and hard to manage.
  8. I realise few people get to live the life they always wanted, but I’m so neurotic, I don’t really think about it. I’m too busy thinking, ‘I hope I don’t screw up my next scene.’
  9. Back when I was a kid, I used to tear pages out of magazines and stick them on my bedroom wall — I had the Eternity ads on my wall and the CK One ads. My whole childhood, those were on my wall, and cut to 20 years later, being asked to be the face of one of Calvin Klein’s new fragrances is kind of surreal.
  10. I’m pretty mercurial and a very difficult, long-winded decision-maker at the best of times.
  11. I grew up in an environment where it was permittable to use violence to solve a problem. But it was not permittable ever to call the police under any circumstances. That was the kind of doctrine of my household. My dad was a career-long criminal, and you weren’t calling the police for any reason.
  12. I think my favorite show of all time was ‘Deadwood.’
  13. If I have a long period of time away from acting, I tend to write.
  14. I’m reading scripts, desperately wanting to work. I’ve set a couple of things up for next year.
  15. I go into the gym and do 75 pullups, 75 dips, 150 squats, 150 pushups, and then 20 minutes of ab work. Done. It takes an hour; I’m in and out. I sweat the whole time.
  16. My favorite days are at home. Spend some time in the garden, cook a couple of nice meals, watch a couple of movies. I’m pretty boring.
  17. I was a slightly melancholy child and I think films were a way of escaping for me.
  18. So I try not to do press and if you can keep the balance of keeping a certain degree of anonymity and do interesting work then you can hope for a degree of career longevity.
  19. And I just want to work with good directors and good people.
  20. There’s a tendency in this Hollywood machinery to take on too much. You end up not being able to give everything you want.