quotes and sayings
2 min readJul 13, 2022

for more Norah Jones quotes:Click Here

  1. For me, there’s a fine line between being a cheeseball and being a good performer.
  2. Nobody was listening when I learned how to play music. But there’s something about being on stage, talking to the audience, looking at them and smiling, that’s always been difficult for me. I’m a lot more comfortable now, but there are still moments of awkwardness.
  3. I’m ballsy. Well, sometimes I’m ballsy.
  4. I would love to make a real jazz album someday because I never have. But that’s something I’m not in a rush to do.
  5. I hope there are some audiophiles still out there.
  6. I’m very American.
  7. I’m always going to do that — record and make music.
  8. If you’re a female and you get asked by someone who shoots the most beautiful female scenes to be in their film, it’s kind of exciting.
  9. A record is just a snapshot of where you are at any time.
  10. I’ve been told the weirdest things: ‘Yeah, I love taking a bath to your music!’ or ‘I gave birth to my daughter while listening to your music.’
  11. In college I had a weekend gig at a restaurant, a solo thing that was the best practice I could have ever had. That’s where I learned to coordinate my singing and my piano playing.
  12. The pop world is cool, but I never really thought of myself as part of it or wanting to be a part of it because I’m on a label that’s not really like that. They’re not trying to dress me up, they’re not trying to do things like that. I feel like I’m sort of separate from that, actually.
  13. During my first photo shoot, I was unhappy because they put so much makeup on me and straightened my hair. I’ve been stubborn ever since.
  14. I always try to do something different. I don’t think I’ve made the same record over and over.
  15. For me making music is part social, part interaction, part collaboration.
  16. I’m not a very dark person.
  17. A lot of pop people out there are cool, but they overdo it.
  18. I try to just make music that I love, and if I believe in it that’s all that matters.
  19. I’m a musician because I love it and it’s supposed to be fun.
  20. Anyone can look pretty with hair and make-up.